A farewell to Django (and Python?)

For about three years, I’ve been programming (professionally) almost exclusively with Django. It let me work fast as a solo programmer, faster than most of other programmers in my country (which are still doing mostly Java and PHP), and have the freedom to pick only the jobs I was interested in.

Things are starting to change in the web industry, though. And I’m not talking about some hyped technology that’s supposed to be the future of web programming, but about what the standard user expects of today’s web applications. Most programmers will know what I’m talking about: as client programming gets more and more complex, it’s getting harder (not to say impossible) to stay on the DRY side of things. This situation is very well explained in this article. It’s time to start looking for alternatives to LAMP and its variants.

Recently there was a series of posts in Hacker News discussing how cloudy Python’s future was (here, here and here). I don’t think Python is going away in the near future. I personally consider it the best general purpose programming language, and my weapon of choice in most cases; it’s probably what I’ll be comparing against every other language I try in the next couple of years. That being said, it’s clear that Python (using Django or some other framework) is not the best tool for some of the hottest jobs in the market, complex web applications being one of them. As a side note, it is interesting that the case of Python being “too slow” or “too CPU intensive”, which I always disregarded (and still do for the most part) for not being a bottleneck for most applications, has finally found a raison d’être in the battery consumption rate of mobile devices.

I’m not sure what the future of web programming will look like, but I sure as hell know how the present does: JavaScript.

I never liked JavaScript; I was one of those people that learned it because they had to: the browser speaks JavaScript and there’s no way around it. But saying that I learned it is overstating, I just started using it as I needed without much idea of what was going on, but with the certainty that whatever it was, it was weird. Indeed, as Douglas Crockford puts it in his JavaScript: The Good Parts:

The amazing thing about JavaScript is that it is possible to get work done with it without knowing much about the language, or even knowing much about programming. It is a language with enormous expressive power.

Over the years, it got less painful as I understood a bit more of the language (and after having experience with other languages) although I never really took the time to study its foundations and cleaner idioms. That’s what I’ve started to do now, and I must say that I see potential in JavaScript. If you stick to the good parts, that is. For one, it was JavaScript, not on its own merit as a programming language but for historical reasons, that managed for features such as dynamic typing and first class functions (that users of “better” languages have been advocating for for years) to go mainstream.

Finally the day came when Python is not the best tool for the job, at least not for my job (I plan to stay as a web programmer for the time being) and to move on to a better one. The first step, is to learn JavaScript. I mean to learn proper JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “A farewell to Django (and Python?)

  1. Pingback: Ежедневник kvarkson'a | 13 Октября / Проще не бывает

Leave a Reply

